Peppermint Brownie Pie

Photobucket

As soon as I saw this recipe on my Google reader I knew I had to make it because it contained chocolate and peppermint, one of my favorite things bout the holidays. Seriously, you do not know how much I adore recipes that contain this perfect pairing. Everyday for finals week I ordered a peppermint mocha before heading off to the library and I would be so jittery from drinking my coffee so quickly but nevertheless it was delicious. I made this for a get together with some of my closest friends who I love to bake for. It especially made a perfect late night snack at 12 pm when we were hungry after catching up about life and laughing so hard. Recipe from Culinary Concoctions by Peabody. (This recipe called for crushed candy canes but since I didn’t find any of the normal candy canes at Target I omitted them.) Photos from Connie Qian and Olga Miakicheva.

Photobucket

Ingredients
1 (14 oz.) can of sweetened condensed milk
¼ cup unsalted butter, cut into 8 pieces to make for quicker melting
½ cup unsweetened baking cocoa
3 eggs
3 TBSP all-purpose flour
1 tsp. vanilla flavoring
1/8 tsp. peppermint extract
1 cup milk chocolate chips
1/3 cup crushed candy cane pieces (I omitted)
1 pie shell (can make your own or use a store bought crust)

Directions
Make the pie crust. If you using a frozen crust, get it out and let it thaw.
Get a medium sauce pan, over low heat, place milk, butter, and cocoa powder in the pan. Mix everything together . Stir occasionally so the mixture does not stick to the pan and scorch. Remove from heat when all ingredients are melted and mixed together fully.
In a large bowl, lightly beat the eggs.
Temper eggs by adding a small amount of the chocolate mixture, a couple spoonfuls at a time. Do this three times. Next, stir in the remaining chocolate into eggs.
Add flour, vanilla, and peppermint extract. Fold in chocolate chips.

Grade: A-
This cake was extremely rich, almost too rich for me but the graham cracker crust provided a nice balance. I wish the peppermint flavor was stronger, this was probably due to the fact that I didn’t add the candy canes but my friends and mom loved this pie.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pie

Leave a Reply

