Chocolate Cinnamon Bundt Cake

Photobucket

Photobucket
How I wrapped up my bundt cake.

I made this as a token of appreciation for the dental office I worked at over summer. This was my second time making a bundt cake using my new bundt cake and first time ever baking with chocolate and cinnamon. I’ve mixed these two ingredients before but that was for making Mexican hot chocolate which I adore, but not for making. I know the pairing is not common but the cinnamon added a nice kick to the chocolate flavoring. I think bundt cakes are the perfect gift, they’re easy to make and more importantly easy to transport and wrap up unlike cupcakes which I have to use my cupcake transporter or else frosting will get everywhere. Originally I was planning on decorating the cake with a simple glaze made out of powdered sugar and milk, however when I inverted the cake out of the pan, part of the top came stuck to the pan. Instead I quickly improvised and made a simple chocolate frosting and decorated with Christmas sprinkles. I then wrapped up the bundt in some red cellophone and tied a pretty ribbon around it. As I have mentioned before bundt cakes are my new favorite thing and I got the inspiration and recipe for this cake from The Food Librarian who had a 30 day journey of making 30 bundt cakes which I think is amazing!
Ingredients
1 cup water
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 stick (1/2 cup) butter
1/4 c plus 1 T (or 5 T) cocoa (I have used both Dutch processed and natural cocoa with fine results)
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups sugar
1/2 t salt
1 1/2 t cinnamon
1/2 c buttermilk
1 t baking soda
2 eggs
1 t vanilla

Instructions
1. Bring to a boil in a pot: Water, oil, butter and cocoa
2. In a large bowl, combine together with a whisk: flour, sugar, salt, cinnamon
3. Add the chocolate mixture to the flour and mix until combined.
4. Add the buttermilk and baking soda and mix.
5. In a small bowl, combine the eggs and vanilla. Add to the batter and combine.
6. Pour batter into greased 10 or 12-cup Bundt pan (I prefer to use Pam with Flour or Bakers Joy) and bake in a preheated 375 degree oven for 30-35 minutes (the original recipe says 25 minutes, so start checking then).
7. Cool in pan.

Chocolate Frosting
from Hersheys (I halved the recipe)

Ingredients
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter or margarine
2/3 cup HERSHEY’S Cocoa
3 cups powdered sugar
1/3 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions
Melt butter. Stir in cocoa. Alternately add powdered sugar and milk, beating to spreading consistency. Add small amount additional milk, if needed. Stir in vanilla. About 2 cups frosting.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cakes

Leave a Reply

