Nutella Bundt Cake

Photobucket

One of the perks of being home other than being with my loved ones and eating 4 meals a day (It’s official, my cooking sucks and college food is soso) is being able to bake in my kitchen! My kitchen is TINY! My pillow offers more space than our counter. I made this cake for Thanksgiving lunch with my mom’s side of the family with a new Bundt pan that my mom bought for me from Ross. Finding inspiration from Mary the Food Librarian and her 30 day’s of Bundt Cakes I decided to try her Nutella Bundt Cake recipe after discovering a jar of Nutella in the fridge. To make this cake I first made Martha Stewart’s Basic Yellow Cake, then mixed 1/3 of the batter with 1 cup Nutella and 1 egg. However instead of using 1/3 of the batter I used too much, probably 1/2 so my cake had more Nutella batter in it. However, that is not a problem at all! After this recipe, I think Bundt cakes are my new thing! (Of course they’ll never replace my first true love-the cupcake!)

Photobucket

A slice of the cake. Look how moist and light it looks!

Ingredients from Martha Stewart
8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature, plus more for pans
1 1/3 cups cake flour (not self-rising), sifted, plus more for pans
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon baking powder
Pinch of salt
1/2 cup milk
For the nutella batte:
1 cup nutella
1 egg

Directions
1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Grease a 12 inch Bundt pan.
2. Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt. Add flour mixture and milk to the egg mixture in three additions, beginning with the milk and ending with the flour, and alternating with the milk.
3. Reserve 1/3 of the cake batter and mix in 1 egg and the nutella.
4. Alternate the nutella and yellow cake batter. Since I had more of the nutella batter I poured it in first, followed by the yellow cake batter and then the rest of the nutella batter.
5. Bake for 45-50 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clearn.

Grade: A+
Honestly you can never go wrong with Nutella and a Martha Stewart recipe. This cake was sweet but not too sweet and the texture was very light, fluffy and airy. This would go perfect with coffee or a sweet brunch meal. Even my Dad who normally does not eat sweets enjoyed it. Everyone loved it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cakes

Leave a Reply

