Chocolate Pudding Pie

Photobucket

To celebrate an early Thanksgiving my apartment mates and I had a potluck dinner last night with some of our guy friends. Surprisingly it turned out to be a vegetarian meal since two of the girls I live with are vegetarian. We had potato salad, mashed potatoes, orange tofu instead of orange chicken, green beans, pasta with eggplant and biscuits. Nevertheless I was stuffed before dessert and though it was cold and rainy outside, I had a blast playing one of my favorite games, Catch Phrase. As usual I made this dessert however since it is Thanksgiving a time for being thankful and eating lots of food, I decide to make two pies instead of one. Also since it was the first time making either of these pies (chocolate and pecan) I decided to make two in case one did not turn out well. I cheated and used a prebaked crust for both of my pies due to our shortage of butter. I decorated the pie with whip cream and chocolate sprinkles. Recipe is from Smitten Kitchen.

Photobucket
Cutting up the chocolate.

Photobucket
Chopped chocolate.

Photobucket
Dry ingredients. Sorry for poor picture quality, it was raining outside and our kitchen does not have very good lighting.

Photobucket
Cooking the pudding.

Photobucket
Pouring in the pie crust. You can see some of the steam coming out.

Photobucket
What was left of the pie after I gave half to my friend AJ.

Ingredients
One unbaked pie crust
For filling:
1/4 cup cornstarch
1/3 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar, divided
3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
3 cups whole milk
4 oz bittersweet chocolate (not more than 60% cacao), finely chopped
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 cup chilled heavy cream

Directions
Whisk together cornstarch, 1/3 cup sugar, cocoa powder, and salt in a 2-qt heavy saucepan, then gradually whisk in milk. Bring to a boil over medium heat, whisking constantly, then boil, whisking, 2 minutes (mixture will thicken). Remove from heat and whisk in chocolate and vanilla until smooth.

Pour filling into cooled shell and chill, its surface covered with wax paper (if you want to prevent a skin from forming), until cold, at least 2 hours.

Just before serving, beat cream with remaining 2 Tbsp sugar until it just holds soft peaks. Spoon onto pie.

Grade: B
The texture of the pie was just right however it was a little bit too bitter for me since the only chocolate I could find on campus was unsweetened and 100% cacoa. I was planning on using semi-sweet chocolate since I had a ginormous bag of chocolate chips from Costco that I bought in September but when I went to open up and cupboard and take it out, to my disbelief I saw that I had used up all of the chocolate chips! Can you believe it?

Leave a comment

Filed under Pie

Leave a Reply

