Raspberry Cake

Photobucket

All I do in my free time when I take a break from studying other than watching tv or sleeping is go on my laptop and look at various food blogs. (Hey it’s the life of a foodie!) One of my favorites is the Food Librarian. I found this recipe titled the “Easiest Cake Ever”. Since I have less than 3 feet of my counter space in my kitchen it’s nice to bake things that do not require a lot of prep and bowls. In order to celebrate taking my physics quiz and not having to live at the library I decided I wanted to make this cake. (Physics is painful!!!) I used raspberries I found at one of the school’s market place.

Ingredients
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
zest of 1 lemon
3/4 cup sugar
2 eggs
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 carton of raspberry

Directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
2. Cream eggs and sugar together. Mix in oil and vanilla. Add in the flour, baking powder and lemon zest.
3. Pour batter into a cake pan. Sprinkle with choice of fruits and 1 tbsp of sugar.
4. Bake for 35 minutes or until inserted toothpick comes out clean.

Grade: A
Perfect for baking in a college apartment! Sweet but not too sweet, a nice break from the cakes with frosting.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cakes

Leave a Reply

