Brownies with Chocolate Chip Cookies

Photobucket

Two of my favorite desserts out of the numerous things that I love to devour are the chocolate chip cookie and the brownie. What happens when you combine both of them together? The answer is heaven. There are many combos that go perfectly together: peanut butter and jelly, mint and chocolate, Zac and Vanessa, chocolate chip cookies and brownies…you get the idea. I have been wanting to make this recipe for a while after seeing it pop up on numerous blogs but it wasn’t until today I made up my mind to make it. While I was browsing the baking aisle at Target I noticed brownie mix on sale for $0.73! So I grabbed two boxes and threw them in my cart and made up my mind that I would make these delicious treats. I used an adaption of a recipe from the book Baking from my Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan for Chipster Topped Brownies. However instead of making the brownies I just made the chocolate chip cookie dough batter. I personally find brownies difficult to make. Since I did not want the cookie dough to overwhelm the brownie layer, I halved the recipe. I then wrapped half of these up to give to my friend Neesha or else I would have eaten them all! Note: last time I did a brownie in a chocolate chip cookie, now a chocolate chip cookie on top of a brownie! Oh how exciting I am!

Photobucket
Brownie batter.

Photobucket
Cookie dough batter.

Photobucket
Ready to bake.

Photobucket
Done and ready for me to eat!

Here is the recipe for the cookie layer:

1¼ cups all purpose flour
½ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
1½ sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature
¾ cup (packed) light brown sugar
2/3 cup sugar
1 egg
1 egg yolk
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 cup bittersweet chocolate chips

Directions
1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Prepare brownies according to the instructions on the box.
2. Pour the brownie batter on an 13 inch by 9 inch pan.
3. To make the cookie dough, whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt.
4. Working with the stand mixer in a cleaned bowl or with the hand mixer in another large bowl, beat the butter and both sugars together on medium-high speed until smooth and creamy, about 3 minutes. One at a time, add the egg and the yolk, beating for 1 minute after each addition. Beat in the vanilla. Reduce the mixer speed to low and add the dry ingredients, mixing only until they disappear into the dough. Still on low, mix in the chopped chocolate. Drop the cookie dough by spoonfuls over the brownie batter and, using a spatula and a light touch, spread it evenly over the batter.
6. Bake for 35 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

Grade: A+
So delicious! Not to chocolatey or sweet and the perfect combination of a cakey brownie with a soft cookie. Honestly if I had no self control and wasn’t trying to live a healthier lifestyle, I’d probably eat half the pan.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bars

Leave a Reply

