Chocolate Chip Scones

Photobucket

Although scones normally fall in the breakfast category, in my eyes since they are sweet and in this case have chocolate, they are worthy of being a dessert or for this occasion a travel provision. What exactly is a travel provision by my standards? It’s something sweet to eat while on the road or plane to college for my friends as a reminder of me. These scones were made for my friend Alice. Although I did not get to see her a lot this summer since she was busy working on the west coast, we had fun times together and she always makes me laugh with her stories. Since my school starts pretty late, I’ve had to say good bye to many close friends and this one was hard since she goes to school so far away. However, time flies by extremely fast and before we know it, it’ll be Thanksgiving! Now on to the food. I was not a huge scone fan until this past year were I ate delicious chocolate chip scones sold on campus at a coffee score. However spending all that money to buy a scone every time I was in need of something sweet adds up! Now that I have a delicious recipe I will be saving $1.70 each time by making my own. Hey, I’m a poor college student!

Recipe from one of my favorite websites Annie’s Eats.

Photobucket
Flour mixture and chocolate chips.

Photobucket
Add in the heavy cream and tada the dough is done.

Photobucket
Ready to bake.

Photobucket
Cooling and ready to be given to Alice.

Ingredients:
1½ cups plus 2 tbsp. all-purpose flour
¼ cup sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
Pinch of salt
1 cup (6 oz.) chocolate chips
1 cup heavy cream
2 tbsp. butter, melted
Additional sugar for sprinkling (optional)

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 375˚ F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat. Combine the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl; stir to combine. Toss in the chocolate chips and stir to blend. Add the heavy cream to the flour mixture, stirring just until a dough forms and the dry ingredients are incorporated. Knead the dough very briefly with well floured hands to ensure even mixing.
Using a large dough scoop (or a large spoon), drop rounds of dough onto the prepared baking sheet. Brush lightly with melted butter and sprinkle with additional sugar (if using). Bake 15-20 minutes, until lightly browned.

Grade: A+
The best part about these scones were not only how delicious and fluffy they tasted with the perfect amount of chocolate chips but how simple they were to make. Seriously, all I did was mix together the ingredients and bake. Good thing I don’t always have heavy cream on hand or else I’d probably make these every week.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bread/Muffins

Leave a Reply

