Pillow Cookies aka Giant Chocolate Chip Cookies with a Brownie Inside!

Photobucket
(Ok this picture is pretty terrible but the lighting in my house is awful and I had taken a break from studying physics all day! On the other hand, look how big they are!)

I bet you’ve never seen a cookie like this before. Or if you have you’re pretty darn amazing, since I the ultimate dessert junkie has never heard of them before. I saw these cookies on Bakerella‘s website, another favorite website of mine. After making so many cakes I decided I needed to go in a different direction and I was intrigued by the idea of a cookie with something inside it. This cookie contains a brownie wrapped in chocolate chip cookie down. Basically two of my favorite things combined so of course I had to try it. Tonight was karaoke night so I made these for the girls. Although I am not the best singer ever, I do love karaoking with my friends especially singing to my all time favorite song “Baby” by Justin Bieber which I did sing tonight! I think the best part of these cookies were the fact that they were so big, kind of like the ones you buy in the store. In fact I’m pretty sure these cookies had at least a 6 inch diameter.

Photobucket
Creamed butter and sugar mixture.

Photobucket
Flour mixture.

Photobucket
Cookie dough!

Photobucket
Brownies. Ok I definitely cheated and used a box mix but so far all the brownie recipes I have tried none of them have compared to the box mix brownies. Plus I was feeling lazy this morning. Also notice the fact that I can’t cut them into even pieces. That’s what studying physics for science and engineers does to you.

Photobucket
Assembly. Get a large chunk of cookie dough and then place a brownie in the center.

Photobucket
Cover it up. This part can get a little sticky but it’s ok, another excuse to lick all the cookie dough off your hands afterward.

Photobucket
Ready to bake!

Photobucket
Look at the size of these. (That’s she said) I know I’m mature

Ingredients
1 package brownie mix

1 cup butter, room temperature
1 1/2 cups packed light brown sugar
2 large eggs, plus 1 egg yolk
1 tablespoon vanilla
2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
12 oz. bag miniature semi-sweet chocolate chips

1. Make brownies according to package and let cool. Cut about ten 1 inch squares. Enjoy the remaining brownies.
2. For the chocolate chip cookie dough, beat butter with a mixer until creamy.
3. Add brown sugar and beat until smooth.
4. Add eggs, yolk and vanilla. Beat until smooth.
5. Combine flour, baking powder, soda and salt in a medium bowl and stir together with a wire whisk.
6. Add flour to butter mixture and beat until combined. Stir in mini chips.
7. Let dough chill covered in the refrigerator for at least an hour.
8. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
9. Use a measuring cup to scoop batter by the 1/2 cup. Since it’s chilled, you may need to pack it with a spoon. Then use the spoon to remove the dough from the cup and place it on parchment paper. Work quickly so the dough remains chilled or either prepare one cookie at a time so the rest of the dough remains cold.
10. After the dough is on the parchment paper, make an indention and place a 1 inch square brownie in the center. Press the brownie down gently and work the remaining dough around the brownie. You can use your hands to shape the dough into a ball.
11. Prepare six cookies at a time using a large baking sheet (15 X 20) and bake at 350 degrees for about 18 minutes. Return the remaining dough to the refrigerator until time to bake the second batch.
12. Cool on the baking sheet for a few minutes and then cool completely on a wire rack.
13. Makes about ten cookies using a little less than a 1/2 cup of dough for each cookie.
14. If your cookies start to get too brown before they are done baking, you can place a sheet of aluminum foil over top for the last few minutes.

Grade: A
The girls and my family loved loved them! However my cookies ended up more flat rather than puffy, I think this is because my baking soda is old. The cookie dough recipe was also very good and I liked the taste of mini chocolate chips rather than the large ones. This way the chocolate wasn’t too overpowering. This is something I will definitely try again!

1 Comment

Filed under Cookies

One response to “Pillow Cookies aka Giant Chocolate Chip Cookies with a Brownie Inside!

  1. These were delicious Iliana! I had no idea you updated so often πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

