Coconut Cupcakes for Father’s Day

Photobucket

As you all know, last Sunday was Father’s Day. Now my dad and I get along pretty well although we tend to disagree on a couple of things, he tries to explain life lessons to me while driving so I can’t really run away, he can be quite embarrassing (whenever we go and visit colleges he always asks for the location of the Student Union), and he gets mad when I eat too many sweets. However he is the one who taught me how to play tennis and plays with me whenever I want, came down on move in day to pick me up although he forgot his cell phone and where I lived (Luckily he asked a random girl in my building of 700 or so people and she knew me, made me feel extremely well known), and generally is an awesome dad to my brother and I. Random side note, my brother and I also got our huge nose from him. From reading my blog you know that baking is my specialty and often I bake desserts for people as a way of showing that I care. My dad doesn’t really like sweets at all (I know weird, where do I get it from?) but I remember one time when we went to a cupcake bakery in Canada he took a picture of the coconut cupcakes because he likes coconuts and so I decided to make him some coconut cupcakes. I normally do not bake with coconuts but I do like them especially in pina coladas or coconut cream pie. Recipe from Ina Garden at Food Network

Photobucket
Creamed butter and sugar.

Photobucket
Flour mixture.

Photobucket
Batter.

Photobucket
Ready to bake.

Photobucket
Cream cheese frosting.

Photobucket
Cooling.

Photobucket
Yummy cupcakes!

Ingredients
* 3/4 pound (3 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
* 2 cups sugar
* 5 extra-large eggs at room temperature
* 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
* 1 1/2 teaspoons pure almond extract
* 3 cups flour
* 1 teaspoon baking powder
* 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
* 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
* 1 cup buttermilk
* 14 ounces sweetened, shredded coconut

For the frosting:
* 1 pound cream cheese at room temperature
* 3/4 pound (3 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
* 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
* 1/2 teaspoon pure almond extract
* 1 1/2 pounds confectioners’ sugar, sifted

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.
2. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugar on high speed until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes. With the mixer on low speed, add the eggs, 1 at a time, scraping down the bowl after each addition. Add the vanilla and almond extracts and mix well.
3. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In 3 parts, alternately add the dry ingredients and the buttermilk to the batter, beginning and ending with the dry. Mix until just combined. Fold in 7 ounces of coconut.
4. Line a muffin pan with paper liners. Fill each liner to the top with batter. Bake for 25 to 35 minutes, until the tops are brown and a toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool in the pan for 15 minutes. Remove to a baking rack and cool completely.
5. Meanwhile, make the frosting. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, on low speed, cream together the cream cheese, butter, and vanilla and almond extracts. Add the confectioners’ sugar and mix until smooth.
6. Frost the cupcakes and sprinkle with the remaining coconut.

Grade: B+
These were pretty good but the cream cheese frosting as delicious as it usually is, felt a little off. I’m not sure if my dad ate any, although he did appreciate the effort and the coconut.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

