Whoopie Pies

Photobucket

Whoopie pies have always intrigued me. I’ve heard about them on various blogs, cookbooks, occasionally on tv and they even sell them at the Trader Joe’s in La Jolla yet I’ve never had them. What exactly is a whoopie pie you ask? It’s a cookie sandwich composed of two soft cake like cookies often chocolate flavored with a marshmallow fillling. However I have seen other cookie flavors such as red velvet, vanilla, and even banana!

Over one of the breaks, when I was back home I saw some Marshmallow Fluff on sale at Target so I decided to buy some to make some whoopie pies in the future. Fast forward a couple of months and finally I get the chance to make some. Also, they were featured in the food and lifestyle section of the newspaper which my mom saved for me. It was a pleasant surprise to find this article on my bed when I came home for break recently (My mom knows how much I love baking). I bought these to our beach trip and my friends loved them! (Sorry for the terrible picture quality, you know how terrible I am at taking pictures and the lighting in my kitchen is terrible especially at night)

Photobucket
Cookie batter.

Photobucket
Ready to bake! I used my mini cookie scooper. Make sure all the cookies are even!

Photobucket
Cooling.

Photobucket
Marshmallow fluff frosting.

Photobucket
Assembling them.

Photobucket
Yum!

Cookies from How to Eat A Cupcake
1/2 cup salad oil
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup cocoa
1 cup milk
1 egg
2 cups flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla

Mix ingredients in order and beat until well mixed. Drop on ungreased cookie sheet from a tablespoon. Bake for 7-10 minutes in a 375 oven or until done. Spread filling between 2 cookies.

Marshmellow Filling from Martha Stewart
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, preferably organic, room temperature
2 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar
1 jar (7 1/2 ounces) marshmallow Fluff
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract, preferably organic

Directions
1. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together butter and sugar until pale and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add Fluff and vanilla and continue mixing until well combined.

Grade: A
The cookie tasted just like a cake in cookie form and anything with marshmallow fluff is delicious!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies

Leave a Reply

