Soft Sugar Cookies

Photobucket

My mom is a second grade elementary school teacher and she often asks me to bake treats for her kids as well as include a letter telling them to “do well on their STAR testing.” One time I wrote a letter to them pretending to be the Easter Bunny telling them to study hard so they could ace their STAR testing. Hahahaha, oh Mommy. So I was thinking to myself, what do second graders like to eat? First thing that popped in my mind was cupcakes since everyone obviously loves them but they are a pain to transport due to the frosting getting everywhere. So I thought about those soft sugar cookies that you buy at the grocery store. Sugar cookies are so simple to make and everyone loves them! I rolled these in some red sprinkles that I had left over from when I made Fourth of July cupcakes with my friend Erin. Recipe is from All Recipes.

Photobucket
Creaming butter and sugar.

Photobucket
Cookie dough.

Photobucket
Rolling the dough out and dipping them in the red sprinkles.

Photobucket
Cooling.

Photobucket
Yummy! My mom’s second graders are sure lucky to have me!

Ingredients
2/3 cup shortening (I only used butter)
2/3 cup butter
1 1/2 cups white sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup granulated sugar for decoration

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
2. In a medium bowl, cream together the butter, shortening and sugar. Stir in the eggs and vanilla. Combine the flour, baking powder and salt, stir into the creamed mixture until dough comes together. Roll dough into walnut sized balls and roll the balls in sugar. Place them on an unprepared cookie sheet about 2 inches apart.
3. Bake cookies 10 to 12 minutes in the preheated oven, until bottom is light brown. Remove from baking sheets to cool on wire racks.

Grade: A
So yummy, sweet, and soft. I hope my mom’s students enjoy these and ace their STAR testing!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies

Leave a Reply

