Banana Cupcakes with Brown Sugar Swiss Meringue Buttercream

Photobucket

As usual we always have ripe bananas lying around the house and I’m the only one in the family besides my brother who can eat bananas. So instead of the usual banana bread I decided to make banana cupcakes topped with swiss meringue buttercream since I had some leftover eggwhites in the fridge. This was my first time ever making swiss meringue buttercream but Cassie of How to Eat a Cupcake loves it so I decided to give it a try. However, I didn’t have an thermometer or a Kitchen Aid mixer but I tried to do the best I could with my hand beater. Overall it was worth trying but I probably won’t make any SMB in the future since it was so sweet and I had to add powder sugar to balance the taste.

Photobucket
Beating butter and sugar.

Photobucket
Cupcake batter.

Photobucket
Ready to bake.

Photobucket
Cooling off.

Frosting

Photobucket
Whisking brown sugar and egg white mixture over the stove.

Photobucket
Beating the buttercream.

Photobucket
This is was suppose to be the final result but I decided I didn’t like the texture and it was too sweet so I added about 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar.

Photobucket
After adding the powdered sugar I like the consistancy of the frosting better. A much better frosting. 🙂

Photobucket
All done!

Banana Cupcakes from Bakerella

1 3/4 cup all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
3/4 cup sugar
2 eggs, room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 large ripe banana (or almost 1 cup)
1/2 cup whole milk, room temperature

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line cupcake tray with 12 baking cups. Sift together flour, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl with a wire whisk. Cream butter and sugar in a mixer for about four minutes. Add banana and mix until combined. Add eggs and vanilla and mix until combined. Add half the flour in three additions alternating with milk in two additions. Scrape down the sides with each addition. Bake for about 12-15 minutes or until done

Brown Sugar Swiss Meringue Buttercream from How to Eat a Cupcake

1 cup light brown sugar
4 egg whites
¼ teaspoon salt
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature

Put sugar, egg whites and salt into the top of a double boiler over a pan of simmering water. Whisking constantly, cook until sugar has dissolved and mixture is warm (about 160 degrees). Pour heated egg whites into the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment. Beat egg white mixture on high speed until it forms stiff (but not dry) peaks. Continue beating until fluffy and cooled, about 7 minutes total. Switch to the paddle attachment. With mixer on medium-low, add butter two tablespoons at a time, beating well after each addition. Increase speed to medium-high; continue beating until frosting appears thick, about 3 minutes. Reduce speed to low and continue beating 1 minute to reduce air bubbles.

Grade: B
The frosting was extremely sweet and I think in general banana and cake just don’t work together. However my friend Roya and dad’s coworker enjoyed them.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

