Molten Chocolate Lava Cakes

Photobucket

Yesterday was my mom’s birthday. Since I am older now and do drive highways I decided I should get her a nice gift. After all she is my mom and I cannot count all the kind things she’s done for the family. A couple of years ago I got her a Juicy Couture charm bracelet which she loves to wear. Not sure what to get her this year I remembered that one of her best friends had given up some Christian Dior lipstick that she wouldn’t let me use. Bringing my trusty sidekick Josephine along with me, we drove to Stanford Mall dropping off the little brother and going to Sephora to buy some Christian Dior lipstick. We managed to get lost on the way from downtown Palo Alto to picking up my brother and actually drove to the Stanford office building. No birthday is complete without dessert so I also decided to bake her something. As much as I love cake, no one in my family eats it except for me, so it goes to waste in the trash can. My mom’s two favorite foods are pearl milk tea and chocolate but making pearl milk tea was definitely out of the question. It was perfect timing that I saw this recipe on Pioneer Women which is one of my favorite websites so I knew I had to try it. It looked simple and of course delicious and of course came with step by step pictures. I halved it because I think we would have died of chocolate overdose.

Photobucket
Chocolate and butter.

Photobucket
Whisking together the melted chocolate and butter mixture.

Photobucket
Cake batter.

Photobucket
Ready to bake.

Photobucket
Cooling off.

Photobucket
Pure chocolate heaven.

Photobucket
Yummy.

Ingredients
4 pieces (squares) Semi-sweet Baking Chocolate
½ cups Butter
1 cup Powdered Sugar
2 whole Eggs
2 whole Egg Yolks
6 Tablespoons Flour

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
2. Spray 4 custard cups with Pam and place on cookie sheet.
3. Microwave chocolate and butter in large bowl on high for about 1 minute, until butter is melted. whisk until chocolate is also melted.
4. Stir in sugar until well blended. Whisk in eggs and egg yolks. Stir in flour.
5. Divide between cups.
6. Bake 13-14 minutes until sides are firm and center is soft. Let stand 1 minute.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cakes

Leave a Reply

