Strawberry Banana Chocolate Cream Pie

Photobucket

Remember that list I told you about? The one that my friends and I came up with consisting of things to do over summer? Well I have to say it was mostly Olga and I coming up with ideas with a few suggestions from the others but hey, now we have a game plan for summer. Anyways one of the things of the list was to eat pie. There’s just something pretty awesome about pie and summer. Last summer, Josephine, Neesha, Connie and I went to Marie Calender’s and bought a chocolate cream pie and went over to memorial park and ate it. Unfortunately we weren’t able to finish. So now I guess pie is a an unoffical tradition within our group. Yesterday we had a mini get together at Olga’s new house. I had strawberries and bananas in the house so I decided to make a cream pie with these fruits and melted chocolate on the bottom. I decided to take a short cut but using vanilla pudding from a box but everything else I made from scratch. By the time I left Olgie’s the pie was all gone. So now we can cross off number 27.

Photobucket
Pudding! I wish everything in life was as simple as making pudding.

Photobucket
Getting ready to make the pie dough.

Photobucket
Process until the dough looks like little peas.

Photobucket
All done and so much easier to make than mixing by hand.

Photobucket
Ready to refrigerate.

Photobucket
Ready to roll out.

Photobucket
My beautiful pie crust!

Photobucket
It shrunk in the oven. 😦

Photobucket
Chocolate goodness.

Photobucket
Strawberries and bananas.

Photobucket
Covering with pudding and more bananas. Sorry this is a bit messy, I was in a rush.

Photobucket
Yummy!

Pie Crust from Martha Stewart
1 1/4 cup flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp sugar
1/2 cup butter
2 tbsp ice water

Directions
1. In a food processor, pulse all-purpose flour with salt and sugar. Add chilled unsalted butter, cut into small pieces.
2. Pulse until mixture resembles coarse meal, with a few pea-size pieces remaining.
3. Add ice water; pulse until dough is crumbly but holds together when squeezed. (If needed, add up to 2 tablespoons more ice water, 1 tablespoon at a time.) Do not overmix. Turn out onto a work surface; knead once or twice, until dough comes together. Chill.
4. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Prick bottom of pie dough all over with a fork (to prevent it from puffing up or shrinking). Refrigerate until chilled, at least 10 minutes.
5. Carefully line dough with parchment paper or foil; fill to the top with pie weights or dried beans. Bake until crust is firm, about 15 minutes.
6. Remove parchment and weights; continue baking until crust is golden brown and bottom is flaky to the touch, 15 to 20 minutes. Cool completely before filling.

For Pie
strawberries cut up
banana slices
vanilla pudding (make following directions on the package)
1/2 cup chocolate chips
whip cream

Assembling the pie:
1. Melted 1/2 cup chocolate chips and spread on the bottom of the pie crust. Wait for the chocolate to cool.
2. Layer strawberries and bananas and then cover with pudding.
3. Cover with a layer of more fruit if desired.
4. Cover with whip cream.

Grade: A
Well, Olga’s little sister Svetlana(who I believe is a somewhat picky eater) loved this pie and I gave her a slice before I left. All my friends said they loved it and I agree. I liked the creamy pudding, with the buttery crust, and chocolate. The fruits complemented each other with the tart strawberries and the banana flavor and definitely made us feel a little bit more healthier. I would have to say, there’s nothing better than pie and summer combined.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pie

Leave a Reply

