Sponge Cake with Strawberries

Sorry I can’t find my pictures. 😦

No, I’m not dead, just really busy enjoying summer! Recently my family and I drove down to SD for my orientation. It was a lot of fun! I like meeting new people, square dancing, and the awesome orientation leaders. College is gonna be fun. I’m so excited for this summer, it’s gonna be a long one with school starting in September instead of August. Even though I am working and taking De Anza classes, I’m gonna try my hardest to make the best out of it. My friends and came up with a list of things to do, some things include: go to Sonic, go camping, and attempt to steal Devina’s car. it really hasn’t hit me yet, but this will be our last summer and our last chance to hang out with each other before we all go off to college and only see each other every couple of weeks. Hopefully we all remain friends, I do love these girls like other. So far for the past two days, I’ve been swimming, since the weather here is hot hot hot. I made this cake today for my grandmother’s birthday. Sponge cake recipe is from Martha Stewart.

Sponge Cake
1/2 cup all-purpose flour, plus more for pan
1/2 cup cornstarch
4 large eggs, separated
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
3/4 cup sugar
Pinch of salt

Directions
1. Heat oven to 350 degrees.Butter a 9-inch-square baking pan. Line pan with parchment paper, and butter again. Flour the pan, and set aside. In a small bowl, sift together flour and cornstarch; set aside.
2. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, beat egg yolks, vanilla, and 1/2 cup sugar on high speed until thick and pale, about 5 minutes. Transfer the egg-yolk mixture to a large bowl. Wash and dry the mixer bowl and the whisk attachment.
3. Combine egg whites and salt in the mixer bowl, and beat on medium speed until whites hold soft peaks, about 1 1/2 minutes. With mixer running, slowly add the remaining 1/4 cup sugar. Continue beating until stiff and glossy, about 1 minute.
4. Fold the egg-white mixture into the egg-yolk mixture. In three additions, fold the reserved flour mixture into this new mixture. Transfer the batter to prepared pan, and smooth the top with an offset spatula. Bake until a cake tester inserted into middle comes out clean, 35 to 40 minutes. Transfer pan to a wire rack to cool; turn out cake, and wrap it in plastic wrap until ready to use.

Whip Cream
2 cups of heavy whipping cream
3 tablespoons sugar
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1. Combine cream, sugar and vanilla in a bowl. Beat until stiff peaks form.

Grade: A
Yummy! I always love whip cream and this combination of whip cream, strawberries and sponge cake is just delicious.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cakes

Leave a Reply

