Pound cake

Photobucket

This pound cake is for my grandpa who loves all of my desserts and is one of my biggest friends. Many times he asks me to make dessert for our Sunday night dinners, even occasionally calling me up Sunday morning so I can bake something for that day. For some reason, I believe that pound cake is one of his favorite desserts. He enjoys peanuts and always crushes nuts to eat with his cake. He is part of the reason why I love to bake because he is always encouraging me and complimenting me on my desserts. My mom says this is the best tasting pound cake ever. This recipe is from a french cookbook called French written by Carole Clements and Elizabeth Wolf-Cohen.

Photobucket
Butting butter, eggs, and sugar.

Photobucket
Adding the rest of the wet ingredients.

Photobucket
Batter.

Photobucket
Ready to go in the oven.

Photobucket
Cooling. Someone ate a slice!

Many times he always asks me to make dessert for our Sunday night dinners even occasionally calling me up.
Ready to go!
Ingredients
7/8 cup superfine sugar (I just used regular sugar)
1 tbsp lemon juice
1 1/3 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
pinch of salt
3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
3 eggs, room temperature
grated zest of an orange (Omitted)
orange juice (Omitted)

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 350. Sift flour, baking powder, and a pinch salt. In a medium bowl, beat the butter with an electric mixer for 1 minute until creamy. Add the sugar and beat for 4-5 minutes until light and fluffy, then add eggs one at a time, beating well after every addiction. Best in the orange zest and juice.
2. Gently fold the flour mixture into the butter mixture in 3 batches, then spoon the mixture into the prepared pan and tap gently to release any air bubbles.
3. Bake the cake for 35-40 minutes until the top is golden and sprigns back when touched. Transfer the cake to a wire rack and leave to cool.

Grade: A+
So good and so easy! Perfect buttery moist taste.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cakes

Leave a Reply

