Lemon Angel Food Cupcakes

Photobucket

You know how some days you wake up thinking that it’s gonna be a bad day and instead you’re completely surprised as the day goes along because it turns to be a great day? Well this happened to me last Saturday. Feeling like a failure since I have to take a UC Writing placement exam that day (geez I got an 11 on my essay, shouldn’t that be worth something) and this was the day right after the IDC dance. So anyways the test was at Fremont High School which was about a 15 minute drive from my house and unlike the SAT I/II’s it was at 9. So far one positive thing, this test was an hour later than the normal SAT stuff I was use to. I was pretty nervous since Ithis test was used for placement and if I didn’t pass, then I would be placed in a lower literature class in college. So as soon I parked in the parking lot and started walking towards the classrooms looking for my building, I ran into one of my best friends Jo. What good timing I though to myself. Turns out there were a lot of other MV people that I knew that had to take the test. I personally thought that the placement test went well and finished pretty quickly since I am a faster reader. After that I went to lunch at one of my favorite ghetto places, Dairy Belle and had a delicious soft serve vanilla frozen yogurt dipped in chocolate. My day so far was going great, I had aced (knock on wood) the test, hung out with one of my best pals, and ate a delicious lunch. It got better, I had nothing to do since I am a second semester senior. Then later one of my pals called to say that her appeal to Irvine had got through! You have no idea how exited and happy I was! I was screaming running around the house and even crying tears of joy….which leads to this post.

We had a miny improptu celebration at Roya’s house and I made this after googling recipe with egg whites since I had 4 left over from the fruit tart. This recipe popped up and since I had some lemons in my house I thought they would be perfect! Recipe from Baking Bites.

Ingredients
3/4 cup superfine sugar, divided
1/2 cup sifted cake flour
5 large egg whites, room temperature
1/2 tsp cream of tartar
1/8 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla extract
zest of one lemon

Directions
Preheat oven to 350F. Line a 12-cup muffin tin with paper liners.
In a small bowl, sift together cake flour and 1/4 cup superfine sugar.
In a large bowl, beat room-temperature egg whites until foamy, then add in cream of tartar and salt. Gradually add in the remaining 1/2 cup of superfine sugar while the mixer is on high speed, beating the egg whites to soft peaks. Mix in vanilla and lemon zest. Fold flour mixture into beaten egg whites, adding it in two or three additions.
Divide evenly into prepared muffin tins. The tins should be quite full.
Bake for 16-18 minutes, until golden brown. The tops will spring back when lightly touched.
Cool on a wire rack. Cupcakes may sink slightly, but there is not a great difference between cooling them upside down and not with these small cakes.

Makes 12 cupcakes.

Photobucket
Beating egg whites.

Photobucket
Become stiff and glossy.

Photobucket
Dry ingredients.

Photobucket
Folding in flour mixture.

Photobucket
Ready to bake.

Photobucket
Done and cooling.

Photobucket
Ready to go!

Grade: A
These definitely had the angel food cake taste and texture to them, very soft, fluffy and almost like cotton candy. I couldn’t really taste the lemon but the texture was very light which is nice after the pizza that we ate.

1 Comment

Filed under Cupcakes

One response to “Lemon Angel Food Cupcakes

  1. Alice

    This looks so delicious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

