Carrot Cupcakes

Photobucket

Summer is almost here which means that weather has been getting a lot nicer. This means that when I wake up at 6:30 in the morning it’s not pitch black outside and I can wear my flip flops to school without my feet freezing. Yesterday we celebrated Josephine’s birthday. Boy can her family cook delicious food. I had corn on the cob, ribs, coleslaw, delicious potato salad, yellow watermelon, and cornbread. Since the weather was so beautiful outside we sat in front of her driveway and had a mini picnic. Senior year should be more about relaxing and hanging out with friends than worrying about grades and studying for boring old AP test. Josephine told me that she liked carrot cupcakes so I found this recipe on Baking Bites. What caught my eye was how it was a one bowl recipe which I absolutely adore because this means less clean up for me. The cream cheese frosting I got from All Recipes.

Photobucket
Beating together sugar and eggs.

Photobucket
Adding the rest of the ingredients. Note: I used shredded carrots that I bought from the store because I was too lazy to shred them myself but they were a little too big. I had to cut them with scissors.

Photobucket
Ready to bake!

Photobucket
Cooling off.

Photobucket
Cream cheese frosting.

Photobucket
All packaged and ready to go.

Photobucket
Inside.

One-Bowl Carrot Cake (This made 12 cupcakes)

1 1/2 cups brown sugar
2 large eggs
1/4 cup butter, melted and cooled
1/4 cup orange juice
1 tbsp orange zest (I omitted)
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp allspice (I omitted and added pumpkin pie spice instead)
1/4 tsp nutmeg (freshly grated, if possible) (I omitted)
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 cups shredded carrot (from 2-3 large carrots), drained

Preheat the oven to 350F. Lightly grease an 8×8-inch square baking pan.
In a large bowl, beat together sugar and eggs until smooth. Beat in melted butter, orange juice, orange zest, vanilla, spices and salt. When combined, sift in the flour and baking soda (sifting helps evenly distribute the baking soda) and gently stir it into the batter until no streaks remain. Stir in shredded carrot, then scrape into prepared pan.
Bake for 36-42 minutes (My cupcakes baked for about 22 minutes), until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.
Cool on a wire rack before frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting (This made enough to frost 12 cupcakes)

1-3/4 cups confectioners’ sugar
1/2 (8 ounce) package cream cheese room temperature
1/4 cup butter, softened
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

In a medium bowl, combine confectioners’ sugar, cream cheese, butter or margarine and vanilla. Beat until smooth. Spread on cooled cake.

Grade: A+
Wow these were so yummy! I do have to admit that cream cheese frosting is pretty easy to make and very hard to screw up. It always ends up tasting good! And the carrot cake was delicious. I felt somewhat healthy since there were carrots in my desserts. This recipe is definitely a keeper.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

