Blondies

Photobucket

I have always been curious about blondies. I’ve read about them in blogs, seen recipes in books, and even in Nancy Drew the movie starring Emma Roberts which I saw with one of my closest friends Erin, Nancy makes blondies to give to the villain! When I saw that this recipe on All Recipes as the recipe yesterday I knew it was a sign and that I should make it for our pre-Sadies potluck.

I actually had a lot of fun at Sadies because it was so stress free and I wasn’t rushing around like I normally do before dances. Also we came in the middle because that’s when all the cool kids come. Plus I had an extremely cute outfit on!

Photobucket
Dry ingredients.

Photobucket
Butter and brown sugar.

Photobucket
Mixing in eggs and vanilla.

Photobucket
Combining all ingredients.

Photobucket
Ready to bake!

Photobucket
All done.

Ingredients
1 cup sifted all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
1/3 cup butter
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 egg
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
2/3 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C).
2. Measure 1 cup sifted flour. Add baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Sift again. Add 1/2 cup chopped nuts. Mix well and set aside.
3. Melt 1/3 cup butter. Add 1 cup firmly packed brown sugar and mix well. If shortening is used, add 1 tablespoon hot water. Cool slightly.
4. Add egg (beaten) and vanilla. Blend well. Add flour mixture, a little at a time, mixing well.
5. Spread in 9 x 9 x 2 inch pan. Sprinkle 1/2 to 1 cup chocolate chips on top. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes.


Grade:
A+
Wow! This turned out so good and baked up perfectly. They were very simple to make and I had all the ingredients on hand and ended up tasting almost butterscotch-y and had a very nice texture that wasn’t too soft but not too crispy. My friends loved them and I plan to make more in the future for our next social gatherings.

3 Comments

Filed under Bars

3 responses to “Blondies

  1. Connie

    Omg these were soo good. You are so talented haha.

  2. Whenever I see your blog posts on my Google Reader it makes me SUPER hungry and yearn for some sweets. You should go into Culinary school and become an AMAZING pastry chef.

  3. devinabk

    mmmmmmmm those were RELLY good. I wasn’t even hungry that day, but i can ALWAYS eat your cooking no matter how full i am

Leave a Reply

