Too Much Chocolate Cake for the Night of Hot Lovings

Photobucket

Believe it or not, my group of friends and I are famous for our mad dance skills. Evidence: all the dances that we attend. I was invited to a dance party last Saturday night which was a potluck titled “Night of Hot Lovings.” I have been wanting to try recipe out for a while and thought this would be a good opportunity. I keep on seeing it on the main page of All Recipes and with 5 stars and 1,089 reviews it must be good. I had leftover heavy cream so I made a ganache but this time I let it set up in the refrigerator so it thicken up and became the consistency of frosting. Then using store bought white icing I wrote “Night of Hot Lovings.” However when I got to the party no one ate much of my cake. 😦 This was because it was dark, no paper plates were out, and there were no utensils! Some people were cutting the cake with a popsicle stick! Oh well, so I took it home and the next day my two APUSH bffs came over and ate it and made me feel loved 😛

Dry ingredients.
Photobucket

Stirring everything together.
Photobucket

Ready to bake.
Photobucket

Cooling off.
Photobucket

Frosting with ganache.
Photobucket

All done!
Photobucket

Ingredients
1 (18.25 ounce) package devil’s food cake mix
1 (5.9 ounce) package instant chocolate pudding mix
1 cup sour cream
1 cup vegetable oil
4 eggs
1/2 cup warm water
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips (I omitted)

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
2. In a large bowl, mix together the cake and pudding mixes, sour cream, oil, beaten eggs and water. Stir in the chocolate chips and pour batter into a well greased 12 cup bundt pan.
3. Bake for 50 to 55 minutes, or until top is springy to the touch and a wooden toothpick inserted comes out clean. Cool cake thoroughly in pan at least an hour and a half before inverting onto a plate If desired, dust the cake with powdered sugar.

Chocolate Ganache

1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate cups
2/3 cup heavy cream

Combine the chocolate chips and cream into a bowl and microwave for 40 secs. Stir the mixture until everything is combined. Then refrigerate until the ganache thickens up, about 15 minutes.

Grade: A-
It was ok, it just tasted like a regular chocolate cake to me. This is probably because I omitted the chocolate chips and used a smaller box of pudding mix. The good thing is it didn’t taste anything like cake from a box. The frosting was delicious and my friend Josephine said it tasted just like chocolate. She and Connie ate like 1/3 of my cake when they came over but hey playing Rockband makes you hungry!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cakes

Leave a Reply

