White Chocolate Fruit Tart for Connie

Photobucket

Isn’t it funny? It seems like the people who are closest to you are the ones that are hardest to choose things for. This applies me to along the terms of desserts. I was pondering over what to make Connie for her birthday party and suddenly the idea of a fruit tart popped in my mind. I remember how much she likes fruit tarts because she’s always happy when her mom buys her a fruit tart. For this special occasion I had my mom buy me a new tart plan with a removable bottom from Target. Since it’s winter, I opted to stick to canned fruits using canned peaches, mandarins, and pineapples. I found this recipe from my favorite site, All Recipes. The recipe was fairly simple to follow and I like how decorating the tart is complete up to you. You can use whatever fruits you like, perhaps in the summer I shall use kiwis and strawberries.

From All Recipes.

Making the crust:

My new pan!
Photobucket

Mixing butter and powdered sugar.
Photobucket

Stirring in flour.
Photobucket

Spreading the dough over the pan. I poked holes in the crust with a fork to be safe.
Photobucket

After baking and cooling.
Photobucket

Making the filling

Melted white chocolate.
Photobucket

Combining cream cheese and heavy cream.
Photobucket

Spreading filling out.
Photobucket

Decorating

My beautiful fruit design.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Crust
3/4 cup butter, softened
* 1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar
* 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

FILLING:
* 1 (10 ounce) package vanilla or white chips, melted and cooled
* 1/4 cup heavy whipping cream
* 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened
* 1 (20 ounce) can pineapple chunks, undrained
* 1 pint fresh strawberries, sliced (Omitted, but instead used one thawed out strawberry)
* 1 (11 ounce) can mandarin oranges, drained
* 2 kiwifruit, peeled and sliced (Omitted and replaced with canned peaches)


Directions

1. In a small mixing bowl, cream butter and confectioners’ sugar until light and fluffy. Gradually add flour; mix well. Press into an ungreased 11-in. tart pan with removable bottom or 12-in. pizza pan with sides. Bake at 300 degrees F for 25-30 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool on a wire rack.
2. For filling, in a small mixing bowl, beat melted chips and cream. Add cream cheese and beat until smooth. Spread over crust. Refrigerate for 30 minutes. Drain pineapple, reserving 1/2 cup juice; set juice aside. Arrange the pineapple, strawberries, oranges and kiwi over filling.
3. For glaze, in a small saucepan, combine sugar and cornstarch. Stir in lemon juice and reserved pineapple juice until smooth. Bring to a boil over medium heat; cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened. Cool; brush over fruit. Refrigerate for 1 hour before serving. Refrigerate leftovers.

Grade: B+
I really liked the crust. It was so simple to make and very buttery and flakey. The filling was pretty good, however I’m not a big fan of cream cheese. I did like the fruits that I chose which added a nice flavor. My friends really enjoyed it and we ate 2/3’s of it before heading off to bed.

3 Comments

Filed under Tarts

3 responses to “White Chocolate Fruit Tart for Connie

  1. olgie

    this was a DELISH tart and so was my mango mousse cake!
    My mother was sooo impressed by your skills!
    btw. i will pay you next time i see you.

  2. Connie

    Iliana, you are seriously amazing. I feel like a fool because I repeat that so often but that’s cause it’s true :)!

  3. Pingback: Fruit Tart « The Sweetest Thang

Leave a Reply

