Angel Food Cake

Photobucket

So being the extremely frugal and thrifty person I am, I hate wasting ingredients. So in the back of my fridge is the carton of egg whites all the way from the royal icing for the sugar cookies I made for our holiday party. For the longest time I didn’t know what to do with it, should I just throw it away and let all of it go to waste since it was probably expired? Or should I attempt to make something with it. I decided to actually take a look at the carton and to my surprise, the egg whites were not expired at all but instead still had a couple months to go. What is the first thing that comes to mind to make when you have a whole bunch of egg whites? Angel food cake of course! I can remember a long time ago watching the Martha Stewart show (this was before she went to jail) and one of my favorite tennis players, Serena Williams was on it. Together they made an angel food cake which I remember Martha saying it had no fat in it. And since every Sunday we have family get togethers at my grandma’s house, what perfect timing to make a cake. I went to one of my favorite websites. All Recipes and searched up the recipe with the highest rating and this one had five stars which meant it was definitely a winner.

Egg whites with vanilla.
Photobucket

The egg whites becoming foamy. I accidentally added powdered sugar instead of regular sugar so I just added the regular sugar in afterward and it turned out fine.
Photobucket

Becoming nice and stuff, look how glossy the egg whites are!
Photobucket

Stirring in the flour. Gently fold the flour in, don’t overbeat the batter or else the egg whites will deflate.
Photobucket

Ready to bake! I used this very cool bundt pant that looks like a Medieval castle that my mom bought my William Sonoma a long time ago. Remember, make sure to grease your pan thoroughly.
Photobucket

All done and cooling off.
Photobucket

Yum! (As you can see I didn’t do a very good job of greasing the pan, or the pan was too hard to grease since it had all these ringes in it! I had to loosen the cake with a knife until it finally came out and so the design is not very clear. Nevertheless it was delicious!)
Photobucket

Ingredients
* 12 eggs
* 1 1/4 cups confectioners’ sugar
* 1 cup all-purpose flour
* 1 1/2 teaspoons cream of tartar
* 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
* 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
* 1/4 teaspoon salt
* 1 cup sugar

Directions

1. Separate eggs; discard yolks or refrigerate for another use. Measure egg whites, adding or removing whites as needed to equal 1-1/2 cups. Place in a mixing bowl; let stand at room temperature for 30 minutes.
2. Meanwhile, sift confectioners’ sugar and flour together three times; set aside. Add cream of tartar, extracts and salt to egg whites; beat on high speed. Gradually add sugar, beating until sugar is dissolved and stiff peaks form. Fold in flour mixture, 1/4 cup at a time. Gently spoon into an ungreased 10-in. tube pan. Cut through batter with a knife to remove air pockets. Bake at 350 degrees F for 40-45 minutes or until cake springs back when lightly touched. Immediately invert pan; cool completely before removing cake from pan.

Grade: A+
Wow this was so good! It was extremely light and tasted like marshmallow. Yummy! I let my mom take it to family dinner and when she returned there was only a tiny piece with her.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cakes

Leave a Reply

