Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Photobucket

Remember a while ago when I decided to make chocolate chip oatmeal cookies for my friend Tiffany’s birthday? I followed a recipe on the back of a Nestle chocolate chip bag and got ok-ish tasting and looking cookies. This weekend I used one of the highest rated recipes on one of my favorite sites allrecipes.com and wow were these cookies amazing. First let me tell you, the girls and I sleepover at Neesha’s house. I bought a couple along being the chef of our group. Just between the three of us: Jo, Neesha, and I we ate almost all the cookies and there were only two left over. We were will waiting for two more people, Olga and Connie to come. Each of them called and being myself I told them that there were only two cookies left so whoever came first got to eat them. Connie won the race and arrived earlier but being the nice person I let her eat one cookie and told her to save the last one for her bestie Olga. However Connie didn’t agree with this and kept on saying, “But I came first!”. Hahahaha. But it all worked out and Olga let Connie have the cookie. The next day we decided to hang out again since we are second semester seniors. I made another batch and this time it was only the three amigos: Connie, Josephine and I. We took a walk over to the elementary school near Connie’s house and bought the cookies along as we climbed on the monkey bars and played on the playground. We also had to go on a “mission” to collect Josephine’s winterball money and gave two cookies to two very nice boys. However, two more boys came out and I hid the cookies. Ha! Then back to Connie’s house I offered a cookie to Connie’s adorable 40 lb sister Clarissa. Ten minutes later I heard a rather strange almost scary sound coming from the door and in popped Clarissa’s head. “Can I have another cookie?” she asked in the cutest voice. Too bad there were none left. So moral of the story these cookies are extremely delicious, make as many as you can because they will be gone by the next day. And oatmeal is somewhat healthy-ish so you don’t feel too bad about eating them.

Creaming butter and sugar.
Photobucket

Adding eggs.
Photobucket

Adding dry ingredients.
Photobucket

Adding oatmeal and chocolate chips.
Photobucket

Ready to bake. I baked my cookies for 14-15 minutes and took them out even when they looked like they weren’t done cooling to let them cool and this is when they cook up a little bit more.
Photobucket

All done and cooling! These were so delicious when they were warm and soft because the chocolate chips melted in your mouth. As Rachel Ray would say, Yum-O!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

INGREDIENTS
1 cup butter, softened
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
3 cups quick-cooking oats
1 cup chopped walnuts (I omitted because I didn’t feel very nut-sy that day)
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS
Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C).
In a large bowl, cream together the butter, brown sugar, and white sugar until smooth. Beat in eggs one at a time, then stir in vanilla. Combine the flour, baking soda, and salt; stir into the creamed mixture until just blended. Mix in the quick oats, walnuts, and chocolate chips. Drop by heaping spoonfuls onto ungreased baking sheets.
Bake for 12 minutes in the preheated oven. Allow cookies to cool on baking sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

Grade: A++
Wow! These are just about the best cookies that I have ever had or made. The crunchy and chewy texture of the oatmeal combined with one of my favorite things in the world chocolate literally makes for an orgasm (Sorry for my inappropriate language children!) in your mouth. If I only I had the fastest metabolism in the world then I would eat as many of these as I could but sadly, I don’t. I will definitely make these whenever I have the chance.

1 Comment

Filed under Cookies

One response to “Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

  1. olgie

    I believe JUIcEE missed out on these. đŸ˜¦

Leave a Reply

