Apple Bavarian Torte

Photobucket

The other day I was sitting around housing surfing away on the internet and being lazy. What do you expect? I’m a second semester senior, no reading for Gov AP, and it’s a three day weekend. Doing one of my favorite things to pass the time which is going on allrecipes.com and typing in various words and then finding the highest rated recipe. I decided to type in “torte” and out popped a recipe for an Apple Bavarian Torte. Lately, I’ve been liking the idea of desserts with fruits in them so this was perfect. I clicked on the picture to look at the recipe and it said that this torte was baked in a spring-form plan which was perfect because my mom had bought me a pack of 3 which I haven’t used yet. Also the recipe looked pretty simple and the pictures were very gorgeous. Since we have family dinner’s every Sunday I thought this would be the perfect time to try out this recipe. While shopping for the ingredients I first stopped by Lucky’s where apples were $1.99 a pound and cream cheese was something around $3. Being the bargain hunter I am I only bought 3 apples and drove on over to Trader Joe’s to buy cream cheese which is only $1.69. So from now on I’m definitely always heading over my new favorite store Trader Joe’s, who doesn’t love the free samples and extremely cute decor? Although the parking sucks and I’m always afraid I’m going to hit someone.
Anyways…
My mom’s side of the family loved the tart and I did too. My uncle ate two slices and today I ate two slices too. I was so proud of myself! It turned out very professional and the only thing that I would like to change is to learn how to cut apples better! I wanted to cut nice slices and then layer them but instead I ended up with some nice-ish slices and chunks. Props to my grandpa who always cuts apple pieces for me. Also, 4 apples was way too much for the torte and I even used a 9.5 spring-form pan so I just piled some apples on top. The only thing I changed from the recipe was omitting the almonds because I didn’t feel like buying them.

Beautiful granny smith apples ready to cut!
Photobucket

My apple pieces.
Photobucket
Ingredients

Apple pieces with cinnamon sugar mixture.
Photobucket

Dough for the crust. I had to mix it with my hands.
Photobucket

Pressing the dough into the pan.
Photobucket

Cream cheese mixture.
Photobucket

Pouring cream cheese mixture into pan.
Photobucket

Ready to bake.
Photobucket

Cooling off.
Photobucket

Photobucket

1/2 cup butter
1/3 cup white sugar
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese
1/4 cup white sugar
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
6 apple – peeled, cored and sliced
1/3 cup white sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 cup sliced almonds

Directions
Preheat oven to 450 degrees F(230 degrees C).
Cream together butter, sugar, vanilla, and flour. Press crust mixture into the flat bottom of a 9-inch springform pan. Set aside.
In a medium bowl, blend cream cheese and sugar. Beat in egg and vanilla. Pour cheese mixture over crust. Toss apples with sugar and cinnamon. Spread apple mixture over all.
Bake for 10 minutes. Reduce heat to 400 degrees F(200 degrees C) and continue baking for 25 minutes. Sprinkle almonds over top of torte. Continue baking until lightly browned. Cool before removing from pan.

Grade: A++
This was one of the most delicious tortes I have ever tasted. I loved the apple cinnamon mixture and the creamy filling. The crust was very buttery and crumbly. The juices from the apples caramelized up leaving a very sweet taste on the crust. If I could, I would have eaten the whole thing. I will definitely make this again in the future.

1 Comment

Filed under Tarts

One response to “Apple Bavarian Torte

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter Cup Rice Krispie Bars « The Sweetest Thang

Leave a Reply

