Polvorones (Mexican Tea Cakes)

Photobucket

Sorry I haven’t been updating in a while! My first week of school back was torture, regular schedule all week which meant not leaving school early on Tuesday or sleeping in on Wednesdays. However, on the plus side, my friends and I started off the year with a bang. We all went up to SF to surprise my friend Devina for her 18th’s birthday. We stayed at an apartment on the 14th floor which had the most amazing view of the city. We even went up on the terrace and took some “modeling” shots while looking at the most gorgeous view of SF including Alcatraz and the Golden Gate bridge. We also ate some very delicious desserts including tiramisu, an opera cake, and a berry tart.

Photobucket

Photobucket
Amazing, isn’t it? Pictures taken from Connie Q.

Anyways…..That sums up my amazing weekend.

So last Friday during our fiesta the group that got first place for best food were two juniors who made polvorones. I have to agree that they did deserve to win, their cookies were very sweet, light and buttery. Kind of almost like a shortbread. So being the chef I am, and a semi-scary senior(not really :-P) I asked one of the girls for the recipe. What was strange was that this recipe did not call for any eggs but it didn’t bother me because often I’m always out of eggs. At first the dough was very difficult to mix so I just put it in plastic wrap to chill but after taking it out of the fridge the dough was very hard so I had to use a little bit of elbow grease to do some rolling. Also, the recipe said to roll the cookies in powdered sugar while they’re still hot and when they’re cooled but after rolling a couple of the cookies while they were hot I realized it wasn’t working very well because the heat from the cookies would melt the powdered sugar. So it works out just as well when you wait for them to cool and them roll them.

Mixing the dough. It was very crumbly.
Photobucket

It was too hard to mix so I just wrapped the dough up in plastic and placed it in the fridge.
Photobucket

Ready to bake.
Photobucket

All done and cooling.
Photobucket

Rolling in powdered sugar.
Photobucket

All done and ready to eat!
Photobucket

Photobucket

Ingredients
2 1/2 cup flour, sifted
2 sticks of butter
3/4 cup powdered sugar
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp salt

Directions
Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit. Cream butter, and add all ingredients to make a stiff dough. Chill in the refrigerator 3 hours. Roll into cookies about 1 inch in diameter. Bake on greased cookie sheets in the oven for 10-15 minutes. Remove and place on racks until cooled. When cooled, roll the cookies in powdered sugar. Make about 5 1/2 dozen.

Grade: A+
These babies were so darn good! I love the sweetest that the powder sugar gave it and the buttery texture. A little bit of work rolling the dough when its rock hard but whenever I feel like making cookies and I’m low on eggs I will definitely make these.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies

Leave a Reply

