Martha’s One Bowl Chocolate Cupcakes with Mint Frosting

Photobucket
(The cupcake tray including the vanilla cupcakes)

The batter. So simple cuz it’s a one bowl recipe.
Photobucket

Ready to bake.
Photobucket

All done!
Photobucket

I know this is a little bit late but hey I’ve been on vacation. In fact, on Christmas Day my family and I went to California Adventure and due to the rain my brother and I were able to ride Screamin 3 times and Midway Mania 2 times. Then the next day Cousin David took me and my brother to Disneyland and we collected all the Fastpasses every hour. Anyways this means I’ve been very busy and not at home so I haven’t had time to upload pictures and update this blog. These were the cupcakes that I made for our Christmas party which I thought was very fun especially with the Secret Santa at the end. I used Martha’s One Bowl Cupcake recipe but for some reason it didn’t work out well for me. I topped them with Hershey’s Perfectly Chocolate Frosting but added mint extract instead of vanilla. Recipe from Martha Stewart.

Makes 2 dozen
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs
3/4 cup warm water
3/4 cup buttermilk
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cupcake pans with liners; set aside. In a large mixing bowl, sift together cocoa, flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Add the eggs, warm water, buttermilk, oil, and vanilla; mix batter until smooth, about 3 minutes. Scrape down the sides and bottom of bowl to assure batter is well mixed.
Divide batter evenly among liners, filling each about one-third full. Bake until tops spring back when touched, about 20 minutes, rotating pan once if needed. Transfer to a wire rack; let cool completely.

“PERFECTLY CHOCOLATE” CHOCOLATE FROSTING

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter or margarine
2/3 cup HERSHEY’S Cocoa
3 cups powdered sugar
1/3 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I substituted peppermint extract.)

Melt butter. Stir in cocoa. Alternately add powdered sugar and milk, beating to spreading consistency. Add small amount additional milk, if needed. Stir in vanilla. About 2 cups frosting.

Grade: B
The cupcake did taste very good, were chocolate-y and very moussy-ish but for some reason they did not rise and were very flat. Luckily, I filled the cupcake pans with a lot of batter but I just couldn’t get over the fact how flat they were. Maybe I’ll try again in the future.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

