Gingerbread Cookies for Roya

Photobucket

Gather around children, let me tell you a story. Last year in Community Leadership when we had a Christmas party I decided to make Gingerbread cookies. My friend Roya and I decided to go and study afterwards and since I had some cookies left over from the party, she I let her have some. Her reaction went like this, she eat one, and another, and another. And one even fell on the ground but she picked it up and ate it! In the process she almost fell backwards because her backpack was too heavy. Hahahahha. At first I wasn’t going to make these for our party but I decided since it is Christmas and Roya is one of my dearest friends (friends since kindergarten!!!) I decided to make these. I decorated them using Royal icing.

Mixing wet ingredients.
Photobucket

Adding dry ingredients.
Photobucket

Ready to refrigerate.
Photobucket

Rolling out dough and ready to cut using my awesome Xmas cookie cutters.
Photobucket

Ready to bake.
Photobucket

Ingredients

1 stick of butter
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup molasses
1 egg
2 cups flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp ginger
1 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp ground cloves

Directions
Beat butter with sugar and molasses. Mix in egg. Sift dry ingredients and mix into wet mixture. Chill in refrigerator for 2 hours. Heat oven to 350 F. Roll out portion of dough 1/4″ thick on lightly floured board. Chill renaming dough. Cut with cookie cutter, place on greased baking sheets and bake 8-10 minutes. Makes 3 dozen.

Grade: A+
These are definitely my go to recipe for gingerbread cookies. In fact, before the party was over, all of these cookies were gone!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies

Leave a Reply

