Chocolate Peppermint Pinwheel Cookies

Photobucket

Photobucket

It’s winter which means that it’s been cold lately. Due to my ginormous sweet tooth consumption of something sweet almost everyday, I stay in shape by playing tennis. However, with the weather lately and my dad ditching me to play tennis with his friend, I have started to go to the gym and work out. I actually found out that I really enjoy working out as long as I have a TV in front of me to keep me entertain. The first time I went the first Harry Potter movie was on. The next time it was Food Network All Star Holiday Cookies. Now I normally love the food channel but when it’s a show about cookies especially Christmas ones I was thrilled. So I ran and did my leg work outs and watched the entire show. One of the recipes really interested me. It was from Alton Brown, one of my favorite chiefs and it was a peppermint pinwheel cookie. I’ve never made a pinwheel cookie before which is when you have two different cookie dough layers and roll them together to create a pinwheel look so I thought what a perfect idea to make for my friends.

Photobucket
Ingredients.

Photobucket
Combining the wet and dry ingredients.

Photobucket
Sugar cookies dough, caution it’s extremely sticky!

Photobucket
Ready to refridgerate. I decided to speed up the process by sticking them in the freezer, not a good idea if you leave them in too long. 🙂

Photobucket
This dough was extremely sticky and since I used my hands to mix it, I had to use a lot of flour.

Photobucket
Adding the crushed up candy canes and peppermint extract to 1/2 of the dough.

Photobucket
Rolling out the candy cane dough.

Photobucket
I placed the dough between a folded sheet of wax paper so it wouldn’t stick and rolled the dough as far as it would go.

Photobucket
Rolling out the chocolate dough.

Photobucket
Rolling the two doughs up into a log. Note: since the cookie dough is still very sticky, I advise you to use your wax paper to help you roll it up. Think of a sushi mat.

Photobucket
I left the roll to chill in the fridge overnight. Then I cut the log into pieces. Ready to bake.

Photobucket
Cooling off. Note: I’ve never made cookies like these before I wasn’t sure how long to bake them. Also my cookies were bigger than expected so I let them bake for a little longer than the recipe called for. When the cookies cooled they ended up a little harder than the typical sugar cookie but tasted delicious.

recipe from Food Network
Ingredients
1 batch Sugar Cookies, recipe follows
3 ounces unsweetened chocolate, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 egg yolk
1 teaspoon peppermint extract
1/2 cup crushed candy canes or peppermint candies

Directions
Divide the dough in half and add chocolate and vanilla to 1 half and incorporate with hands. Add egg yolk, peppermint extract, and crushed candy to other half of dough and incorporate with hands. Cover both with plastic and chill for approximately 5 minutes. Roll out doughs separately to approximately 1/4-inch thickness. Place peppermint dough on top of chocolate and press together around the edges. Using waxed paper or flexible cutting board underneath, roll dough into log. Wrap in waxed paper and refrigerate for 2 hours.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Remove dough from the refrigerator and cut into 1/2-inch slices. Place cookies 1-inch apart on greased baking sheet, parchment, or silicone baking mat and bake for 12 to 13 minutes, rotating the pan halfway through cooking time. Remove from oven and let sit on baking sheet for 2 minutes, then move to a wire rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container for up to 1 week.

Sugar Cookie:
3 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup unsalted butter, softened

1 cup sugar

1 egg, beaten

1 tablespoon milk

Directions
Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside. Place butter and sugar in large bowl of electric stand mixer and beat until light in color. Add egg and milk and beat to combine. Put mixer on low speed, gradually add flour, and beat until mixture pulls away from the side of the bowl

Grade: A-
I baked these cookies for a little too long so they turned out more crunchy and crispy than chewy and soft. However being a mint lover I loved the flavor of these cookies and the boy who sits next to me in Spanish told me he thought they were really good.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies

Leave a Reply

