Chocolate Covered Biscotti

Photobucket

Photobucket
I realized how much I truly loved Christmas. Of course I love every holiday because of the spirit and the food that comes along with it but today when I was walking in between aisles at Target, I realized one of the reasons why Christmas is my favorite holidays is not only the fantastic holiday spirit or the presents, but it’s because of the delicious foods and desserts. Now there are almost mint everything in candy bars and knowing me, mint and chocolate are two of my favorite combinations. I saw a whole aisle of candy at Target with mint chocolate candy bars. I even love the little milk chocolate Santa Clauses. And of course my favorite, the calenders with 25 pieces of chocolate to count down the days until Christmas. When I was younger, my brother and I would eat five pieces at once. Yesterday when I was at Trader Joe’s, I saw a whole bunch of the chocolate calenders and for only 59 cents!
Anyways I decided this year that since I’m going to be extremely busy studying for finals, I would make my friends cookies. The first of the cookies are biscotti which I have decided to cover in chocolate and sprinkles. This recipe is from all recipes. This was my first time making them and after seeing Giada make them on Food Network, I felt confident. Biscotti are Italian cookies which are twice baked meaning they are baked and then cut into pieces and baked again. I didn’t have any anise extract so I substituted vanilla extract. These cookies harden when cooled and I loved the crunchy taste. To make them better, I decided to cover them with chocolate and sprinkles because sprinkles make everything look cute.

Photobucket
Ingredients.

Photobucket
Wet ingredients.

Photobucket
Mixing in dry ingredients.

Photobucket
Dough.

Photobucket
Ready to bake.

Photobucket
After first baking.

Photobucket
Cutting the dough into slices and ready for second baking.

Photobucket
I decided that dipping the biscotti into the melted chocolate was time consuming so I just drizzled some chocolate over.

Ingredients
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 cup white sugar
3 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
3 eggs
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 tablespoon anise extract, or 3 drops anise oil (I used vanilla extract)

Directions
Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Grease cookie sheets or line with parchment paper.
In a medium bowl, beat together the oil, eggs, sugar and anise flavoring until well blended. Combine the flour and baking powder, stir into the egg mixture to form a heavy dough. Divide dough into two pieces. Form each piece into a roll as long as your cookie sheet. Place roll onto the prepared cookie sheet, and press down to 1/2 inch thickness.
Bake for 25 to 30 minutes in the preheated oven, until golden brown. Remove from the baking sheet to cool on a wire rack. When The cookies are cool enough to handle, slice each one crosswise into 1/2 inch slices. Place the slices cut side up back onto the baking sheet. Bake for an additional 6 to 10 minutes on each side. Slices should be lightly toasted.

Grade: A+
These were soooo good! I love their crunchy and buttery texture. The recipe was extremely simple with ingredients that I always have on hand and I like how it called for oil instead of butter.
In fact when I gave these to my friends, two of my friends thought that I had bought these from a store and had an argument with another friend if I made these or not. I take that as a complement!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies

Leave a Reply

