Lemon Bars

Photobucket
Photobucket
I can remember the first time I had a lemon bar. It was in 6th grade and my friend Jenna bought them in. At first I was confused when I asked her, “Did you make these at home or buy them from the store.” She replied I made these. Then I overheard her telling our teacher Ms. Porter that she had bought them from the store. I didn’t make the connection that she had bought them at the store in a box mix and made them at home. I remember the year after for her birthday party we ate these instead of cake. Nevertheless, I fell in love with lemon bars. Sweet and tangy with a nice crumbly crust. I had asked one of my closest friends for lemons because she has a ginormous lemon tree in her backyard. I found this recipe from one one of my library books, Good Housekeeping Favorite Recipes. However when making the crust I had a dumb but moment, I wanted to cut the recipe in half and forgot how to do simple math so I used waaaaay too much better. I kept on wondering to myself, why is the crust so sticky? Thank god, the bars turned out fine and by the next day they were all gone.

Photobucket
Ingredients.

Photobucket
Mixing together flour, powdered sugar, and butter.

Photobucket
Making the crust.

Photobucket

Photobucket
Mixing ingredients for the lemon filling.

Photobucket
Crust done cooking.

Photobucket
Ready to bake.

Photobucket
Cooling off. Note: I had to bake these bars for longer than the recipe called for because of the butter.

Ready to bake. Note: I added waaaay too much butter so the dough was really greasy and I melted the butter. Don’t do this! Follow directions.
Ingredients
1 1/2 cup flour plus 3 tbsp AP flour
1/2 cup plus 1 tbsp confectioner’s sugar
3/4 cup cold butter, cut into pieces
2 large lemons
3 large eggs
1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 salt

Directions
1.Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease a 13″ by 9″ baking pan.
2. in a medium bowl combine 1 1/2 cup flour and 1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar. With pastry blender or two knives cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs.
3. Sprinkle down evenly into pan. With floured hands pat dough firmly onto bottom. Bake until lightly browned, 15 to 17 minutes.
4. Meanwhile grate 1 tsp rind of lemons and squeeze 1/3 cup juice. In a large bowl with mixer at high speed, beat in eggs until thick and lemon-colored, about 3 minutes. Reduce speed to low; add lemon peel and juice, granulated sugar, baking powder, salt, and remaining 3 tbsp of flour. Beat until blended, scraping bowl occasionally. Pour lemon filling onto crust.
5. Bake until filling is just set and golden around the edges, about 15 minutes. Transfer pan to wire rack. Sift remaining 1 tsp confectioner’s sugar over bars.

Grade: A
These bars ended up tasting really good and the crust was extremely flakey. My friends who came over really enjoyed them and I must have ate half the pan. The next morning they were all gone. Even my sometime picky brother enjoyed these. Whenever I have lemons I will definitely make these.

2 Comments

Filed under Bars

2 responses to “Lemon Bars

  1. olgie

    when life gives you lemons make lemon bars!
    BTW. I miss your delicious baked goodies. i think one day when you have something baked you should call me and tell me to visit you at lunch 😉

  2. your blog makes me extremely hungry

Leave a Reply

