Billy’s Vanilla Cupcakes with Chocolate Filling

Photobucket
Photobucket

Today is my dear friend Alice’s birthday! Happy birthday Alice! You can now see R-rated movies! Hahah. Anyways I’ve known Alice sine elementary school and we started to hang out last year a lot though my friend Connie and at all the different dances. She’s a very sweet girl and very smart too. After browsing on marthastewart.com I encountered this recipe and to my surprise, there was even a little video clip on how to make Billy Reese’s of Billy’s Baker in NY vanilla cupcakes. I remember that I had some pudding mix in my pantry so I decided to make vanilla cupcakes filled with chocolate pudding and vanilla buttercream. Here is the link to the website where you can watch a video on how to make the cupcakes and frosting. Cupcake and frosting video

I also really liked the fact that this was a one bowl cake which meant less cleaning and mess. The recipe was very simple to follow, the only problem was that I didn’t have any milk or butter so I had to run to the store to get that. I follow the directions exactly except having the recipe which led to 12 cupcakes.

Photobucket
Ingredients

Photobucket
Dry ingredients

Photobucket
Mixing in butter. Make sure the butter is softened, I normally don’t have time to leave my butter out so I usually microwave it.

Photobucket
Wet ingredients

Photobucket
Mixing them all together. The batter was delicious, almost like one of those cupcake mixes but not as sweet.

Photobucket
Ready to bake.

Photobucket
Cooling off. Look how delicious and golden they look!


Billy’s Vanilla Cupcakes

Ingredients (Makes about 30 cupcakes)

* 1 3/4 cups cake flour, not self-rising
* 1 1/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
* 2 cups sugar
* 1 tablespoon baking powder
* 3/4 teaspoon salt
* 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, cut into 1-inch cubes
* 4 large eggs
* 1 cup whole milk
* 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line cupcake pans with paper liners; set aside. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine flours, sugar, baking powder, and salt; mix on low speed until combined. Add butter, mixing until just coated with flour.
2. In a large glass measuring cup, whisk together eggs, milk, and vanilla. With mixer on medium speed, add wet ingredients in 3 parts, scraping down sides of bowl before each addition; beat until ingredients are incorporated but do not overbeat.
3. Divide batter evenly among liners, filling about 2/3 full. Bake, rotating pan halfway through, until a cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean, 17 to 20 minutes.
4. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Repeat process with remaining batter. Once cupcakes have cooled, use a small offset spatula to frost tops of each cupcake. Decorate with sprinkles, if desired. Serve at room temperature.

Photobucket
Mixing together ingredients for frosting. Final result. Look how thick and creamy the buttercream is! Note it is very important you let your butter soften so you get a creamy texture and use unsalted butter! I once made a buttercream that tasted just like butter. Yuck!

Photobucket

I decided to get a little creative and use one of my neon food coloring.
Billy’s Vanilla Buttercream

Ingredients (Makes enough for 30 cupcakes)

* 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
* 6 to 8 cups confectioners’ sugar
* 1/2 cup milk
* 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions

1. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream butter until smooth and creamy, 2 to 3 minutes. With mixer on low speed, add 6 cups sugar, milk, and vanilla; mix until light and fluffy. If necessary, gradually add remaining 2 cups sugar to reach desired consistency.

Filling

Photobucket
I just added some chocolate milk to instant pudding and beat for a couple of minutes and voila pudding!


Assembling

Photobucket
First using the cone method I cut a cone out of the cupcake. Then I cut off the top of the cone so I could make a little cover for the empty space.

Photobucket
Photobucket
For easier filling I put the chocolate pudding in a plastic baggie and snipped off the tips.

Photobucket
A glimpse of what the cupcake looks like on the inside. The pudding was perfect, creamy and thick and it held up and didn’t fall out.

Grade: A++
These cupcakes were delicious! I know it’s difficult to find a good vanilla cake recipe and with this recipe the cupcakes turned out great. I expected the frosting to be too sweet or taste like butter but it wasn’t. And the filling. Mmmmmhhh I think that what really completed the cupcakes was the pudding filling. First I only planning on eating half a cupcake just to make sure that they were ok but after taking a bite I devoured the whole cupcake. Alice seemed to really like them when she ate one at school. So Happy Birthday Alie and aren’t you glad you’re friends with moi? ;-P

P.S. Sorry for my terrible pictures! I definitely need a new camera or learn how to take better pictures. Stay tuned!

3 Comments

Filed under Cupcakes

3 responses to “Billy’s Vanilla Cupcakes with Chocolate Filling

  1. Connie

    these look SO. AMAZING.

  2. Pingback: Red Velvet Cake for Devina « The Sweetest Thang

  3. Pingback: Candy Cane Cupcakes « The Sweetest Thang

Leave a Reply

