Snickerdoodles

Photobucket
I was attempting to take “artistic” pictures.
Photobucket

Yesterday was my friend Mabel’s birthday. I have known Mabel since 7th grade and every year with the exception of last year, we’ve had the same math teacher. We use to play volleyball in 7th and 8th grade and laugh over pants. She’s super smart and always helps me in physics. I was pondering what to make her. It was between raspberry bars, lemon bars, or some type of cookie. I ended up with snickerdoodles and will make the other two later. These recipe is from Good Housekeeping Favorite Recipes Cookies. This is another book I love because of the glossy photos of almost all the cookies and the binding which makes the pages easy to turn. I wish I could try all the recipes in here but sadly 1. I think I’d die if I ate that much sugar and 2. It’s a library book so I can’t keep it forever 😦
Photobucket

Photobucket
Ingredients.

Photobucket
Dry Ingredients.

Photobucket
Wet ingredients.

Photobucket
Dough

Photobucket
Cinnamon Sugar mixture

Photobucket
Rolling the dough up into balls and into the sugar. The dough was really sticky so I put flour all over my hands.

Photobucket
Ready to bake!

Photobucket
Cooling off.

Ingredients
3 cup AP flour
2 tsp cream of tartar
1 tsp baking soda
1 cup butter or margarine soften
1 1/2 cups plus 1/4 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon


Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 375 F. In a large bowl stir together flour, cream of tartar, and baking soda.
2. In separate bowls with mixer at medium speed, beat butter and 1 1/3 cup sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Reduce speed to low, beat in flour mixture until well blended.
3. In a small bowl combine cinnamon and remaining 1/4 cup sugar. With hands shape dough into 1 inch balls. Roll in cinnamon-sugar to coat. Place balls 1 inch apart on an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake until set and lightly golden and slightly crinky on top, 12 minutes. Cool on cookie sheet on wire rack 1 minute. With wide metal spatula, transfer cookies to wire racks to cool completely.

Grade: A
Snickerdoodles almost always turn out great and everybody loves them! Unfortunately I burned a couple which was totally not my fault because the bottom rack FAILS and also the pan I baked them in sometimes gives me trouble. But other than that they were delicious and they were all gone by this morning.
Photobucket
Burnt cookies!!!!!! Don’t worry it was only 4 of them and I ate like 2 of them and they were fine.

1 Comment

Filed under Cookies

One response to “Snickerdoodles

  1. olgie

    I believe i still have to teach you how to take artsy fartssy pictures of food ! ❤

Leave a Reply

