Happy Belated Thanksgiving and Chocolate Chip Peppermint Bars

Yesterday
I am a little late but I want to wish everyone a Happy Thanksgiving. Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays because of all the delicious food, and getting to spend time with my family. Sorry I didn’t post yesterday, I am feeling lazy since this is the first major break we had and also I was so stuffed! We want to my aunt’s house and I ate two types of stuffing, corn, turkey, cranberry sauce, mash potatoes and gravy, and apple pie with vanilla bean ice cream yummm. Thanksgiving is also about being thankful. I am thankful for many things:
-My wonderful family that always supports me and lets me pursue my passion of baking.
-My friends who know how to make me laugh, cheer me up, or make me feel good when I’m sad. I cherish every moment I spend with you guys.
-My good health.
-My safe and comfy home.
-My passion of baking.
-Being able to have a meal on my plate everyday.

Today
I went black Friday shopping for the first time! Well I’m not sure if it really counts as black Friday shopping because I slept in til 10 and only went to Old Navy. Oh well, I was pretty happy. I got my first ever pair of skinny jeans I’m loving now, a red pea coat very Blair from Gossip Girl, and a black sweater.

Photobucket
This took me forever to take this picture because 1. I’m not pro with a camera like my friend Olgie 🙂 2. I didn’t know want would make a good background so I went with our Holiday decorations. 3. The darn flash keep on going off!!! Oh well…we can’t be good at everything. 😛

I decided to make chocolate chip bars but with a twist, adding peppermint extract instead of vanilla! I love the combination of mint and chocolate and I remember a long long time ago when I was just a little lass (hahaha) I made these really delicious chocolate chip cookies flavored with peppermint. I found this recipe from a Mrs. Fields recipe book that I “borrowed” from one of my closest friends Erin. It’s been in my house for a while….

Photobucket
Ingredients. I actually didn’t know that there was no regular white sugar in this recipe at first so I took it out but instead you only use brown sugar.

Photobucket
Mixing the butter and sugar. I accidentally melted the butter…who knew 25 seconds would be so long?

Photobucket
Adding egg and peppermint extract.

Photobucket
Adding flour and chocolate chips.

Photobucket
Ready to bake!

Photobucket
Cooling off. I was anxious to try some of these bars so I took a small bite.

Chocolate Chip Butterscotch Bars from Mrs. Field’s Cookie Book

2 cups AP flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 cup dark brown sugar, firmly packed (I used regular)
1 cup salted butter (I thought this was waaay too much butter so I used 3/4 cup)
1 large egg
2 tsp pure vanilla (I used peppermint extract)
1 cup chopped pecans (Omitted)
1 1/2 chocolate chips (I used about a cup)

Preheat oven to 300 F. Grease an 8 by 8 inch baking pan.
Combine flour and soda in a medium bowl, Mix well with a wire whisk. Set aside.
In a large bowl use an electric mixer to blend the sugar and butter. Add egg and vanilla(it’s all about the peppermint extract), and beat at medium speed until light and smooth. Scrape down the sides of the bowl, then add the flour mixture, pecans, and chocolate chips. Blend at low speed until just combined. Do not over mix.
Transfer batter into the prepared pan and level top with a rubber spatula. Bake in the center of the oven for 35-40 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean but center is still soft.

Grade: A+
These were so delicious especially if you’re a fan of mint and chocolate. It’s been less than 12 hours since I made these and yet there’s only 1/8 of the pan left. My family and friends loved them and I loved them too. The only downside is all the sugar isn’t too good for you. These bars are very soft and thick and the mint flavor is not overbearing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bars

Leave a Reply

