Raspberry cupcakes

Photobucket
(Sorry for my messy cupcakes, I was really disappointed at that time so I didn’t bother making them look nice :()

If you hear a voice within you say “you cannot paint,” then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced. ~Vincent Van Gogh

I never realized how much baking relates to life. Today when I was making the frosting for these cupcakes I tried them and I thought, “Oh no! this is too sweet and tastes too much like butter! These cupcakes are going to be ruined” So I decided to add some strawberries in hope of helping my cupcakes. It didn’t help much either when my brother told me he thought my cupcakes were “gross’ and when we took them to my grandma’s house hardly anyone ate a cupcake. I thought to myself, wow you really failed this time. I have to agree that sometimes you are your harshest judge. I was worried too my friend Alice wouldn’t like these. Then I took a bite out of these cupcakes. The frosting was sweet but it did go very well with the cupcakes. I thought to myself, these is actually pretty good. So lesson learned, everything you make you should be proud of, and don’t let others shatter your confidence because the only opinion that counts is yours.

Anyways…..

(Yesterday)

I told my mom, baking really helps me into my creative side and it’s just something I really enjoy doing. So today when I went grocery shopping I decided to buy cake flour because so many recipes call for it. On the back of the box was a recipe for a Raspberry-Laced Vanilla Cake. Since I’m having dinner with my mom’s side of the family tomorrow I decided to turn this recipe into a cake but…..

I have another dumb butt moment again!

Instead of using the raspberry as a filling I mixed it into the batter and when I realized it, the jam was already in the batter. Even more dumber of me was the picture didn’t show a pink cake. Anyways I thought about it and I thought who wants a boring white cake when they can have raspberry cake?
Recipe from www.pillsburybaking.com

Ingredients:
Photobucket

Dry ingredients:
Photobucket

Creaming butter and sugar (I kinda melted my butter by accident but oh well!)
Photobucket

Combining all ingredients:
Photobucket

Adding the jam, silly pilly!
Photobucket

Filling the liners:
Photobucket

Cooling off:
Photobucket

Ingredients (I halved the recipe)
CAKE
3 cups Pillsbury SOFTASILK® Cake Flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 cups butter or margarine, softened
1 1/4 cups sugar
2/3 cup milk
1 1/2 teaspoons clear vanilla
4 large eggs
*Added in 12 ounces of jam by mistake

Directions
1. HEAT oven to 350°F. Spray three 9-inch round cake pans generously with flour no-stick cooking spray.
2. MIX cake flour, baking powder, salt and baking soda; set aside. Beat 1 1/2 cups butter and sugar in large bowl with electric mixer on high speed until fluffy. Beat in flour mixture, milk, vanilla and eggs on medium speed until blended, scraping bowl occasionally. Beat 2 minutes longer. Spread batter evenly into prepared pans.
3. BAKE 19 to 23 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes; remove from pans to wire rack. Cool completely.

Frosting

Ingredients:
Photobucket

Creaming butter and vanilla:
Photobucket

Adding all the other ingredients:
Photobucket

I used the cone method to cut out a cone to fill the inside with jam but since I had barely any jam left I only did this for one cupcake.
Photobucket

Ingredients:
2 cups butter or margarine, at room temperature
1 teaspoon clear vanilla
7 1/2 cups (2 pounds) powdered sugar
1 cup Smucker’s® Red Raspberry Fruit Syrup

1 (12 oz.) jar Smucker’s® Seedless Red Raspberry Jam
Fresh raspberries (optional)

Directions
BEAT 2 cups butter and vanilla in large bowl with electric mixer until light and fluffy. Gradually add powdered sugar and syrup; blend until well combined.

Grade: A-
A little bit on the sweet side but if you’re the type of person who doesn’t care too much about looks and has a sweet tooth this will be good for you.

1 Comment

Filed under Cupcakes

One response to “Raspberry cupcakes

  1. Connie

    your blog is amazing.
    you wanted me to friend you, but I don’t know how… what should I do??

Leave a Reply

