Black Bottom Cupcakes

Photobucket

I never realized how much of a dumb butt I can be. I just finished making these cupcakes and to make sure they were done I used the tooth pick rule, standing tooth picks in and seeing if they would come out clean. I kept on sticking toothpicks in and they kept on coming out with chocolate on them so I would keep on baking them. At the same time, the tops were getting brown. I thought to myself what is going on? Finally I had the common sense to cut a cupcake open and then I saw chocolate melting. I thought to myself where did this chocolate come from? Then it hit me, I put chocolate chips in the cream cheese filling. Oh geeeez ahahha. I guess everyone is capitable of having brain malfunctions.

Anyways…

One for a tennis match my friend Jackie bought these cupcakes. They were really good and at first I thought it was just white cake on top of a brownie. I asked her about them and she said they were called “Black Bottom Cupcakes.” I vaguely remember one of my friends rambling on about these so I asked her Jackie the recipe. My excuse for baking is for my usual family dinner and for my friend Alice who helped me with Adobe Photoshop. Hahaha.

Ingredients:
Photobucket

Cream cheese mixture:
Photobucket

Dry ingredients for chocolate batter:
Photobucket

Adding wet ingredients:
Photobucket

Filling the liners with chocolate mixture:
Photobucket

Spooning in the cream cheese mixture:
Photobucket

Cooling off:
Photobucket


Recipe

Cheese cheese filling
8 oz regular cream cheese, softened
1 egg
1/3 cup sugar
6 oz chocolate chips

Black bottom part
1 1/2 cup flour
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup cocoa
1/2 tsp salt
1 c water
1/3 cup oil
1 tsp vinegar
1 tsp vanilla

Directions:
1. Beat cream cheese mixture together.
2. Beat black bottom mixture together.
3. Fill cupcake liners 2/3 with the black bottom mixture and them cover with a heaping teaspoon of the cream cheese mixture.

Grade: A
Despite my dumb butt moment these cupcakes turned out pretty well. I liked the melted chocolate chips and the brownie is an unexpected surprise. It’s kinda like a hybrid between a brownie and cheesecake.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

