Healthy Pumpkin Cookies and Muffins

Sorry for not updating for the last month! I was really stressed out and busy and doubting if I wanted to continue having a blog but I realized while playing tennis how much I enjoy dessert and blogs so here’s more recipes!

Of course with Thanksgiving coming up and Halloween just last week, we’re seeing more pumpkin desserts. Of course I love desserts but love even more healthy desserts! I found these recipe online and with a huge can of pumpkin puree in my fridge I’ve decided to try it out.

Sorry I didn’t take any pictures! 😦

Spiced Pumpkin Cookies recipe from www.eatingwell.com

2/3 cup whole-wheat pastry flour (I just used all-purpose instead)
2/3 cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger (Omitted because I didn’t have any)
1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg (Omitted because I didn’t have any but used cinnamon instead)
3/4 cup canned plain pumpkin puree
3/4 cup packed light brown sugar (Used regular brown sugar)
2 large eggs
1/4 cup canola oil (Used olive oil)
1/4 cup dark molasses
1 cup raisins (Don’t like raisins in my cookies! Definitely omitted)

1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Coat 3 baking sheets with cooking spray.
2. Whisk whole-wheat flour, all-purpose flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ginger, allspice and nutmeg in a large bowl.
3. Whisk pumpkin, brown sugar, eggs, oil and molasses in a second bowl until well combined. Stir the wet ingredients and raisins into the dry ingredients until no traces of dry ingredients remain. Drop the batter by level tablespoonfuls onto the prepared baking sheets, spacing the cookies 1 1/2 inches apart.
4. Bake the cookies until firm to the touch and lightly golden on top, 10 to 12 minutes, switching the pans back to front and top to bottom halfway through. Transfer to a wire rack and let cool.

Grade: A-
I made these for my friends before the homecoming dance and one said that normally she doesn’t like pumpkin but enjoyed my cookies. I gave this recipe to a friend who added chocolate chips and made them for a Halloween party in econ. They have a very interesting flavor definitely more cake like and soft than a normal hard cookie.

Pumpkin Muffins

Aside from cookies and cupcakes, I’m obsessed with muffins! They’re simple to make and not too sweet. I found this recipe from www.myrecipes.com I made these for my friend’s Halloween sleepover because I am the chief of the group.

Photobucket
picture taken from myrecipes.com

Ingredients

* 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
* 1 cup granulated sugar
* 1 tablespoon baking powder
* 1 teaspoon baking soda
* 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
* 1/2 teaspoon salt
* 1 cup canned pumpkin
* 3/4 cup fat-free sour cream
* 1/3 cup fat-free milk
* 1/4 cup vegetable oil
* 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
* 1 large egg
* 1 large egg white
* Cooking spray
* 1 tablespoon granulated sugar
* 1 1/2 teaspoons brown sugar

Preparation

Preheat oven to 375°.

Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flour and next 5 ingredients (flour through salt) in a medium bowl, stirring with a whisk. Make a well in center of mixture.

Combine pumpkin and next 6 ingredients (pumpkin through egg white); add to flour mixture, stirring just until moist. Spoon the batter into 18 muffin cups coated with cooking spray.

Combine 1 tablespoon granulated sugar and brown sugar; sprinkle over muffins.

Bake at 375° for 25 minutes or until muffins spring back when touched lightly in center. Remove muffins from pans immediately; cool on a wire rack.
Yield 18 muffins.

The first time I tried this recipe I added the cinnamon sugar mixture on top. The second time since my family ate almost all of the muffins, I omitted the cinnamon sugar mixture and added chocolate chips. Also, the 2nd time I realize that we had run out of sour cream so I mixed in some apple butter and crossed my fingers but all turned out well. My friends really enjoyed the muffins and I thought that the chocolate chips were a nice touch.

Grade: A
Definitely something I’ll do in the future, they’re simple to make and pumpkin is not only delicious but healthy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Bread/Muffins, Cookies, Healthy

Leave a Reply

