Going Bananas for Banana Bread

 

 

Banana bread

Banana bread

Hello everyone, 

 

 

I have decided to start a food blog where I blog about the foods that I create. Noticing the title, normally I will be baking things that are sweet because I have the biggest sweet tooth ever but occasionally there will be non-sweet things. However today I decided to create banana bread from a recipe from hungry-girl.com

Normally I’d make my chocolate banana muffins that I have perfected but I thought I’d be healthy today. Here’s the recipe and the changes I made to it.

Banana Bread

Ingredients: 
1 1/4 cups whole-wheat flour (I didn’t have any whole-wheat flour so I just used 1 1/2 all purpose flour)
1/4 cup all-purpose flour 
3/4 cup Splenda No Calorie Sweetener (granulated) (i 
1 1/2 cups mashed ripe bananas (about 3 bananas) 
1/2 cup fat-free liquid egg substitute (like Egg Beaters) 
1/2 cup no-sugar-added applesauce 
2 tsp. baking powder 
1 tsp. vanilla extract 
1/2 tsp. cinnamon 
1/2 tsp. salt 
Optional Toppings: no-calorie spray butter, Cool Whip Free

Directions: 
Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, combine both types of flour, Splenda, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon (in other words, all dry ingredients). In a separate bowl, mix together the mashed bananas, egg substitute, applesauce, and vanilla extract (all the wet ingredients). Add this mixture to the bowl with the dry ingredients, and stir until just blended. Spoon batter into a large loaf pan (about 9″ X 5″) sprayed with nonstick spray. Bake for about 50 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the middle comes out clean. Allow to cool slightly, and then cut into 8 slices. If you like, spritz with some spray butter or spread on some Cool Whip Free. MAKES 8 SERVINGS

Rating: B

It was ok, not as good as my normal banana chocolate chip muffins. I think this was because this was a “healthy” recipe and also I tried to use up all our overripped bananas so I may have put more than needed for in this recipe. But hey that’s what you get when you go healthy! 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Bread, Healthy

Leave a Reply

